RSS Feed

Looking for inspiration

Posted on

A confession is in order – I’ve been feeling a little out of it lately, and when I say “it”, I mean the blog. That’s just the way it is, blogging is sometimes an ungrateful “job” – you put in a lot of time and effort with getting little or no return at all. It’s not my intention to whine about how hard it is being a blogger, because first and foremost it’s something I do for fun; However, I do want to be honest. Despite all of this, the best incentive is of course the feedback and support I get from my followers/readers. You may not have noticed my absence at all, but I do feel somewhat responsible at least for a tiny fraction of your online entertainment consumption, so for that, I apologize.

Since I was feeling a bit discouraged, I thought about doing something different in order to freshen things up. I wanted to tell you about my latest musical discovery – a band called HAIM, which consists of three sisters and a drummer. I heard their great song “falling” totally by chance on VH1 (Yes, TV music channels still exist!) and was immediately turned on to it. It’s not only a super cool track, but also has a super cool video, which even provides some fashion inspiration. Naturally, you’ll decide for yourselves, but just in case you want some reasons to spend (at least) 4:11 minutes of your life on this band, here is why I think you should:

1. They’re called Haim! Haim is a relatively common Israeli name, and it’s the sisters’ family name, simply meaning “life”
2. Your music savvy friends will thank you for introducing it to them.
3. It’s not often I hear a song that makes me feel nostalgic but is also innovative and original at the same time. “Falling” is that kind of song.
4. The combination of – Short-shorts, jackets, long straight hair and a hat.

haim band

5. These bomber jackets

Haim varsity jackets

Enjoy!

עליי להתוודות – לאחרונה אני מרגישה די חסרת השראה, במיוחד בכל הנוגע לבלוג. אין מה לעשות, לתחזק בלוג זו “עבודה” לא מתגמלת לעתים – משקיעים הרבה זמן ומאמץ, מבלי לקבל תמורה פעמים רבות. אין לי כוונה להתמרמר או להתלונן על כמה קשה להיות בלוגריות, כי בראש ובראשונה זה משהו שאני עוסקת בו בשביל הכיף; אבל כן חשוב לי להיות כנה. למרות כל זה, אין ספק שהתמריץ הכי טוב להמשיך ולהשקיע הוא התגובות החמות והתמיכה שאני מקבלת מהעוקבים/הקוראים של הבלוג. ייתכן שבכלל לא הרגשתם בהיעדרי, אבל אני עדיין מרגישה אחראית במידת-מה לפחות לשבריר קטנטן מצריכת הבידור המקוונת שלכם, ולכן אני מתנצלת.
כיוון שהרגשתי מעט חסרת חשק, החלטתי לגוון קצת בניסיון לרענן את הבלוג ובתוך כך גם את עצמי. החלטתי לספר לכם על התגלית המוזיקלית האחרונה שלי – להקת HAIM (כן, כן, חיים!) המורכבת משלוש אחיות ומתופף. שמעתי את השיר שלהן “falling” לגמרי במקרה ב-VH1 (מסתבר שערוצי מוזיקה עדיין קיימים) ומיד נדלקתי עליו. מדובר לא רק בשיר מגניב לאללה, אלא גם בקליף מהמם ואפילו שיקי. מן הסתם, תחליטו בעצמכם, אבל אם אתן רוצות כמה סיבות לבלות (לפחות) 4 דקות ו-11 שניות בהאזנה ללהקה, קבלו:

1. בגלל השם שלהן! אמנם אין לזה את אותה קונוטציה באנגלית כמו שיש לזה בעברית, אבל כמה גאוני זה לקרוא ללהקה “חיים”.
2. חבריכם אניני הטעם המוזיקלי יודו לכם על שהכרתם להם את הלהקה.
3. לא יוצא לי לעתים קרובות לשמוע שיר שגם מעורר תחושה נוסטלגית, אבל עדייו חדשני ומקורי בעת ובעונה אחת. “falling” הוא שיר כזה.
4. השילוב של שורטס קצרצרים, ז’קט, שיער חלק וארוך וכובע
5. הז’קטים ההורסים הללו

(ראו תמונות למעלה)

תהנו!

One response »

  1. I am sooooo in love with Haim! Well appreciated post! xx Jenelle

    Reply

Leave a comment